Watercolor jacket, skirt and pants

News flash! I entered this outfit in the ASG/Simplicity Creativity Contest and have gotten to the top 5 nationally! I need votes to progress, and if you’d like to vote just click here ((Voting now closed))

*click to view larger*



I wanted an outfit that would express my femininity and artistic nature and be practical enough to wear while going after a perfect picture. Having a fair complexion, another necessity was sun protection for plein aire painting.

Simplicity 2453, views A and B
I subtracted and added seams, ending up with a yoke and two princess seams in the front, framing faux-pocket flaps. I fussy-cut the flaps so that there is a butterfly on each where a button would usually be placed. The back seams echo the pocket shape and all seams and hems are topstitched for extra stability and interest. The collar is narrower, so as not to overwhelm the other details, and I added some length overall.

Simplicity 2288, views E and D
Using the basic skirt pattern, I created yoke seams along the front and back, taking up the dart excess. I also added pockets (see lower left photo). All seams and hems are topstitched.
Using another pattern as a reference, I widened the pant legs and elasticized the back waist, so these pants are very comfortable and easy to move in.

2 Comments to “Watercolor jacket, skirt and pants”

  1. Especially like the flow-y lounge pants and the pretty hair knot/twist.

  2. Thank you for linking to my party, the color palett is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

