Lisa’s graduation dress

Inspiration: My friend Lisa searched for a special dress for her graduation and 18th birthday. Not finding anything decent she came to me. Together we decided on this design.

img 0501

Materials: cotton fabric from Joann’s, Simplicity 2926, white piping and a zipper

Construction: I basically followed the pattern, raising the neckline a bit and adjusting the fit for Lisa. I lined it instead of using facings so that Lisa wouldn’t need a slip.

In case I left out any details, here is the review I wrote for the Pattern Review site

Pattern Description:
Nice dress, easily made dressy or casual

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Pretty well. I had to make some adjustments, so at times the instructions were no longer applicable. The lapped zipper instructions were wonderful- I’m no longer afraid of zippers!

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I love the styling. Modest without being frumpy, very flattering for my customer’s figure (rather straight). The sleeves were very easy, since they are raglan, but don’t look sporty.

Fabric Used:
Keepsake calico cotton fabric from joann’s. Puchased white piping. Lined with white cotton muslin.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I raised the neckline an inch, and adjusted for gaping because of small bust. My customer is a ballerina, so I had to make adjustments for her muscular shoulders and back. I fully lined the dress rather than using the facings so that there would be no shadowing and so that she wouldn’t have to wear a slip, so that affected the construction. I believe I also lengthen the skirt some, because the wearer is tall.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes! I almost made one for myself immediately after finishing this one. I would definitely recommend it.

Conclusion:
Overall great pattern, though I wouldn’t exactly call it beginner. There are some tricky things with the piping and pleats, but if you’ve got at least a little experience sewing, go for it!

Leave a Reply

